Wednesday, April 30, 2014

The Home-Schooled Otaku... AT ZENKAIKON 2014!

Hello my dear nerdy friends. This is the home-schooled Otaku and... OH MY GOSH; you guys. Zenkaikon 2014.

This was my third Con (my second Zenkaikon) and this time I went in full cos-play for two days as... dun dun dun - Bellatrix Lestrange! But I'll get to that in a follow up post.

I confess, I found it pretty easy to get up in the morning this year. And I'm proud to say that so did my sister. 2014's Special guests included: Musical Guests, Lolita Dark, The Extraordinary Contraptions, Trifecta and DJ Zing; Edo Tsumami Kanzashi artisan, Kanawa Kuniko-sensei; Web Comic creator, Gina Biggs; Authors Jonathan Maberry and CJ Henderson (the latter is a Zenkaikon veteran who returned in spite of ongoing medical difficulties); Geek Specific Comdedian, Uncle Yo; Doug Walker (best known as the Nostalgia Critic); and actors Greg Houser, Mark Swint, Bill Rogers, JIM CUMMINGS (And if you, as a geek or person in general, don't know who HE is, you didn't have a childhood), and the amazingly talented and wonderful Brina Palencia.


After the Opening ceremonies, we attended Lolita Dark's panel... and their concert. And, you guys, let me just say, THIS BAND IS FRICKIN' GREAT. Lolita Dark is a Steampunk influenced EpicRock/JRock/SymphonicRock band from Los Angelis. Featuring the talents of Shibuya native Singer/Songwriter/guitarist (And brand new American Citizen) Rayko, Okinawan native and backup vocalist/keyboardist May (Machiko), bassist Rain Balen, guitarist Patrick Cabrera and drummer Joey Felix; Lolita Dark rocked Zenkaikon 2014 on Friday night and Sunday Morning. Both Concerts (and most of their panels) were attended by yours-truly. They won the hearts of many Zenkaikon attendees by their amazing music and friendly stage-side manner.
    After every concert and panel (if possible) they take a picture with the audience (said pictures can be found on their Facebook page).
    Unfortunately, the airline lost Rain's beloved, neon green-stringed bass guitar. He therefore had to run to guitar center and buy a new one for the Friday night concert, but it was mercifully returned to him in time for the Sunday morning show. And I would be totally remiss if I neglected to mention Rayko's wicked-cool steampunk guitar. (which I unfortunately do not have a picture of. But seriously, just go to their facebook page).

In between basking in Lolita Dark's amazing awesomeness, we found time (as VIP members) to attend the VIP Meet 'n' Greet with all of the OTHER special guests. And while I was chatting with Brina Palencia (and giving her a hand-crocheted Chibitalia flag, which she adored), my sister was at the next table over, sitting as far as possible from the voice actors sitting there as she could. Until Mark Swint got up, dragged her chair over to the middle of the conversation and decided to fix her anti-social issues. (And you know, I think it helped a little)

We kicked off day two by attending Ask a Nation 2014: Our Beautiful World, which as I'm sure many of you can guess, was a HETALIA Panel. And I was in cosplay as Greece this year. The Panel this year was hosted by: America, England, France, FemKitty Germany, Prussia, Ukraine, Japan, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Iceland, Russia, Italy Veneziano, Italy Romano, China*, and... um... I feel like there was another one... who was it... there was a bear... Oh well. Being Greece I asked truly Philosophical questions regarding how safe Prussia's Gilbird was with my cats in the room, and whether Flying Mint Bunny is the TRUE key to the success of British Actors such as Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hiddleston, and also recognized China as a member of a group of Hetalia Cosplayer who hailed me from across the room and asked me to join their picture at SaikouCon 2013. Meanwhile, America consumed almost an entire box of doughnuts.

Then later on Saturday, with nothing else much to do, we dropped in for the Cosplay Masquerade/Cosplay Fashion Show/Hall Cosplay Contest Awards Show/AMV contest awards Show. The Winner of the 2014 Hall Cosplay contest was an Elsa Cosplay (from Frozen, what other Elsa is there?). I'm sure a lot of you are nodding your heads wryly, saying, "Of course. ANOTHER Elsa Cosplayer." Stop. Stop it right now, because This was not JUST and Elsa Cosplay. I traveled in the elevator with this girl about six times over one weekend, and I can personally attest to the brilliance of that dress. She walked away with the Best of Weekend trophy because the bodice of the dress was made of six different fabrics of varying textures and shades of ice-blue; the cape had a perfect gradient dye; and every SINGLE bead and sequin was stitched to the dress BY HAND. Every rhinestone was perfectly in line. (I'M SORRY I DON'T HAVE A PICTURE!!!!!)
    Some Honorable mentions and minor awards included The Cosplay Mom award, for the mother who made the best cosplays for herself and/or her children; the Neophyte award, for the best costume made by a novice, which was awarded to a very Impressive Miss Notch (from Hollow Fields), and the Award for Best Work with Difficult materials, which was awarded to a young lady who used denim and managed to hem it to within and inch of perfection.

Saturday was rounded off by Uncle Yo's 50 Years of Doctor Who Companions. And at this panel, Uncle Yo delved in deep, to the beginning of the series and highlighted the most important companions ever to be a part of the Doctor's story (Susan Foreman, Jamie McCrimmon, K9, Vislor Turlough, Sarah Jane Smith, Ace, Rose Tyler, Martha Jones, Donna Noble, Captain Jack Harkness, Amy Pond, Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart) and glanced over some of the still notable, but more useless ones (Adric, Tegan, Nyssa, Mel etc...) and then there's Plothole (erm, I mean Clara... no, I DO mean Plothole). Uncle Yo also spoke some undeniable truths, such as the fact that Amy Pond was Haruhi Suzumiya all along, and Brigadier Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart is the best and most important companion in Doctor Who's history.  (Followed by Ace and Sarah Jane). I'm also now shipping Uncle Yo and his PowerPoint of Jack Harkness.


Finally, on Sunday, after Lolita Dark's last concert for the weekend, Kagura4221973* managed to swallow her nerves, come up out from hiding under the table and sing some of her amazing songs - Super Saiyan Babies (her tribute to her favorite voice actor and one true love, Christopher R Sabat); Blu-Ray - An awesomesauce rap in defense of the Living Nerdy; And Sugoi kara, Zakennayo! (Screw You, I'm Awesome - the anthem for her campaign to stop the geek-hate.) She kicked off the panel by showing us her tribute to her cat, the late, great Piccolo. And she also read out some of her hate-mail - and substituted all the swear words with fruits. It was Hilarous.


AND THAT ENDS PART I OF MY ZENKAIKON 2014 EXPERIENCE!
My next post will be all about my cosplays for Zenkaikon AND some upcoming endevours that I'll be attempting for SaikouCon 2014!

So until then, this has been your Christian Home-schooled Otaku... even though I know I have no followers and my posts are boring and poorly put together and I never have any pictures and...

Sorry.

                                





Footnotes__________________________________________________________________


China, if your reading this, I'm sorry I made such an ass of myself during the "Dating Game" at the Ask a Nation panel. I should have sung something from Mulan instead of complimenting your hair.

Kagura4221973 is a character from the web-series The Troubadoors and persona of Voice Actress Brina Palencia. Her character is defined by her nerdy appearance, love of anime, and stalker-like obsession with voice actor Christopher R. Sabat, making her first appearance in 2011 when sang her song Super Saiyan Babies in a YouTube video as a prank for Sabat (Whom Brina knows well in real life). It garnered a lot of hate-comments. So she posted another song, Blu-ray in response. 

Sunday, March 30, 2014

LOYAL Lyrics (A Pottermore Hufflepuff Parody of "Royals" by Lorde)

This is for all my housemates over at Pottermore. Like our Welsh house founder, we seem to have a fondness for singing and I know there was a "Born This Way" cover that had great success on YouTube. We'll I don't have the equipment or the know-how to make a cover video myself, but this is my contribution to the Badger repertoire: a parody of ROYALS by Lorde.

Learn it here, then sing it in the common room to lift morale (But please don't change any of the lyrics, because I worked really hard on these. If you have a suggestion of a better word or line, please leave a comment on this post.)

LOYAL

We've never seen a quidditch cup in the flesh...
We get called dimwits and losers... in the hallways
But we're still proud of our address...
In the basements down, next to the kitchens...

But every song is like: Quick wits, bold deeds, achievers on a mission
Broad minds, brave hearts, slithering ambition
We don't care - we're riding Firebolts in our dreams
And everybody's like: Bronze birds, silver snakes, lions set in gold leaf
Statues, prestige*, gold and silver trophies
We don't care - We aren't caught up in your love affair

(Chorus)
And we'll always be Loyal (loyal)
It just runs in our blood
Renown and lux just aint for us,
We crave a different kind of buzz
Let us be your mentors (mentors)
We'll make Helga proud, you'll see
And baby we'll duel, we'll duel, we'll duel*...
'Til we live that fantasy...

We Hufflepuffs have cracked the code...
We earn house points every day... instead of party
And everyone who knows us knows...
That we're fine with this... we didn't come for glory

But every song is like: Quick wits, bold deeds, achievers on a mission
Broad minds, brave Hearts, slithering ambition
We don't care - We're riding Firebolts in our dreams
And everybody's like: Bronze birds, silver snakes, lions set in gold leaf
Statues, prestige, gold and silver trophies
We don't care - We aren't caught up in your love affair

(Chorus)
And we'll always be Loyal (loyal)
It just runs in our blood
Renown and lux just aint for us,
We crave a different kind of buzz
Let us be your mentors (mentors)
We'll make Helga proud, you'll see
And baby we'll duel, we'll duel, we'll duel...
'Til we live that fantasy...

(Bridge)
Ohhh... oh
It's better without all that stuff
And we're in love with being Puffs
Ohhh... oh
Life's great in the Badger lair
We aren't caught up in your love affair

(Chorus)
And we'll always be Loyal (loyal)
It just runs in our blood
Renown and lux just aint for us,
We crave a different kind of buzz
Let us be your mentors (mentors)
We'll make Helga proud, you'll see
And baby we'll duel, we'll duel, we'll duel...
'Til we live that fantasy...

Footnotes_________________________________________________________________
* You can substitute "Brew" in that line if that is your preferred method of earning points.
* for whatever bizarre reason, the Pottermore moderators don't allow for the word "prestige" so to help you out I'll provide this workaround: {Prest.i.ge} Additionally, you'll have to spell "Lux" with a ck since the mods don't recognize "lux" as a word. (Example: Lucks)

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

The Home-Schooled Otaku On Hufflepuff House

First off, the Japanese Word of the Day: Mahou (Magic) {Pronounced: Mah-ho}
So Today the Home-schooled Otaku is going to talk about Harry Potter today, for a nice change of pace from anime. (What, it's still within the realms of Geekdom! Who says anime folks can't be freakishly into HP? If you think that, I think Voice Actress Jad Saxton would have something to say to you.)
So really Harry Potter was the Homeschooler's first Geekish obsession. Her Potterheadedness started when she saw the first movie at the green age of seven - no, six - years old. While the Homeschooler's Potter-geekness was pervaded for a while by Star Wars [Darn you Anikin Skywalker!] she came back to Potter. And she stayed for a LONG TIME until anime caught her in it's clutches, but even now that the Homeschooler is an Otaku, if you want to start an in-depth conversation of philosophies and magical sciences in the Harry Potter universe while Her Homeschooledness is in the vicinity, do so at your own risk because once she gets started you won't be able to shut her up. Yes, she even still twiddles about with the 12 in. Cherry and Phoenix Feather, Surprisingly Swishy wand she had her father craft for her because she wanted HER OWN wand, not a metal and ceramic reproduction of one of the character's wands.
    The Homeschooler made up HER OWN character which she is still developing.

So The Home-schooled Otaku could use this Potter post to talk about the characters, or the plot line, or her Great Potter obsessions (potion-making and wandlore... and Professor Snape... oh Professor Snape...) but instead, she's going to talk about the Hogwarts Houses.

When the Homeschooler saw Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone at the age of six, she developed a monster crush on Daniel Radcliffe (Not so much anymore), but she also contemplated for a while which house she wanted to be in. She didn't really come to a conclusion until, at a party, her family started playing the Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone Trivia Game in which the players select a house. Now, normally it's a random draw, but because there were fussy children playing, the adults allowed us to pick according to preference. The Homeschooler made the decision that she wanted Ravenclaw, because they seemed cool and clever and dark, but as her elder sister picked Ravenclaw first that obviously wouldn't do. On the same team as her sister? The Homescooler? NEVER. But she didn't want Slytherin because they were meanies, and she didn't want Gryffindor because they were the MAIN CHARACTER'S house, and how common is that? So what was left for her but Hufflepuff? So it wasn't cool and she wasn't quite sure what a badger was, and their house color was yellow, which was The Homeschooler's Sister's favorite color... but it's fun to say.
Hufflepuff
Hufflepuff
Hufflepuff
Hufflepuff... Sorry.

SO the Homeschooler grew in geeky-ness watching the HP movies as they came out and consistently sticking by Hufflepuff regardless of her increasing notice of their less than scintillating image. And when she grew up a little more and she and her sister moved on from the "I-don't-want-to-have-the-same-favorite-thing-as-my-older-sibling phase that had thus far dictated the Homeschooler's favorite house (and incidentally, her favorite Power Ranger and, by extension, color - Oh yes, it was indeed the Pink) she had the opportunity to finally switch the the cool and dark whimsically intellectual haven that was Ravenclaw, she FOUND... that she couldn't.
   For some inexplicable reason, Hufflepuff had grown on her. She still didn't like yellow and... seriously, a badger? And then she read the books and the fourth movie came out. So now, not only are Hufflepuffs push-overs, but we're gossip-mongers and bullies too? I mean lets face it, the Movies didn't do much to improve our rep, us Hufflepuffs. We had some hope in Cedric. He was an alright guy. But then he died... and came back as a sparkly sissy-pire. Now we had TOO MUCH of a scintillating image (Thanks Steph.)

Last November the Homeschooler joined Pottermore. She doesn't find it boring because she's nerdy that way and has an insufferable desire to be an authority on on whatever interests her.
    On Pottermore, among other things, you get to find out what Hogwarts House you would be in. The Homeschooler was a Hatstall* and therefore given the choice between two Houses: Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff.
    She chose Hufflepuff.

WHY? WHY would she choose to be a member of the most useless and stupid and pudgy house of all? After all, Helga Hufflepuff is remembered as a Great Witch because of her proficiency in... food charms. Granted food is one of the most difficult subjects to become proficient in transfiguring and charming, but it doesn't seem all that impressive to a layman.
Why would anyone want to be a Hufflepuff when there are three Houses that are more accomplished, more interesting... just better? Many people would rather be a Slytherin than a Hufflepuff. Because Hufflepuffs are just there. Just a lump of some house.

Are we though? Where did these ideas come from? There are any number of essays on the internet (written by people who AREN'T Hufflepuffs) spelling out exactly why Hufflepuffs aren't useless or even stupid, really.

The truth is, there IS no perfect House. One House is not better than all the others. They all have good qualities. They all have bad qualities. I'm not going to badmouth any of the other houses (which is more than can be said from many of the other houses. In case you hadn't noticed, there's a lot of rubbish out there about my house) but I am going to point out some truths that are unnoticed or kept quiet by people who don't have to constantly point out the good qualities of their house.

Let's start with the ever popular Slytherin.
So Slytherin has about as much bad rep as Hufflepuff. It's just their reputation is for being malicious, discriminatory gits instead of flowery, pudgy pushovers.
    J.K. makes it abundantly clear that Slytherins as aren't all bad. They're just more edgy. They ARE more willing to break rules. They DO hang around in menacing gangs. And they ARE very proud. People don't associate with them, because they don't associate with other people. But this is largely due to the fact that that's how they were raised. And often, they were raised that way because their parents (Who were usually also Slytherins) were afraid of what wouldn't happen if they weren't pure-blood elitists in the event of Voldemort returning. In this respect that makes them cowards, yes, but their concern for their loved ones is actually a good quality.
    The reason why Slytherins don't change their attitudes is because their reputation also has it's perks. For instance, as it's put in the Slytherin Welcome Message on Pottermore, "Chuck out a few hints that you have a whole library of curses and see whether anyone feels like nicking your pencil case." While you ought not to threaten people, and you ought not to lie, they know how to take a negative thing and use it to their advantage. They adhere to the age-old maxim: when life gives you lemons, you make lemonade.
      Slytherin's good qualities - their ambition, their cunning, and their relentless determination - are well embodied in their house color (green). Green is often looked on as a poisonous color, associated with snakes and jealousy and general nastiness. But green is a sign of life.Water is often green. Plants are green. It's a colour of resilience and survival. Slytherins are nothing if  not survivors.
      Slytherins bad qualities - Pride, apathy, their seeming lack of scruples. But nothing can exist without it's opposite, and though Slytherin's good qualities are not portrayed in many of the Slytherin characters, there are Slytherins who possess good qualities. (Regulus Black for instance.)

Okay, moving on to Ravenclaw. While Ravenclaw is certainly a popular house, they have bad qualities too.
Ravenclaws are known for their wisdom and intellect. They're also highly eccentric and imaginative, and like all truly wise people, they consider any knowledge to be worth knowing.
   So those are Ravenclaw's positive qualities. The interesting thing about Ravenclaw is that their positive qualities ARE their negative qualities. Only about half of Ravenclaw stayed to fight Voldemort in the last book. I can pretty much guarantee that it was eccentric half of the house because the logical half would only adhere to the most sensible course of action: bail and and save your own skin.
     Ravenclaw's House Colors are Blue and bronze. Blue as a representation of the fluid, swift minds found in the House. Ravenclaws are generally the most agile minds in Hogwarts. Knowledge is powerful, and blue -which is indicative of peace, cool-headedness and calmness- is also associated with Ravencalw's base element: wind.
     Bronze is Ravenclaw's secondary color, and brings more to mind a pair of steady bronze book-ends. Traditionally bronze is symbolic of structure and logic. Sort of the flip side of Ravenclaw's intellectualism.
     Now, in the Ravenclaw welcome message it says that Ravenclaws are very tolerant. That if you like to do weird things, that you can do them without fear of being an outcast. But this isn't entirely true: Luna Lovegood is about as eccentric as it gets, and her housemates let her get on with it, but that doesn't seem to prevent them from calling her Loony. I guess she's a freak even by Ravenclaw standards.
     I might also point out that Ravenclaws aren't the most easy people to get along with simply because they ARE the wittiest and most knowledgeable. Their also kind of snobs, and seem to think that clever people MUST truly belong in Ravencalw. They're the Oxford types. The Hogwarts epitome of Toffy-nosed prats.
            Not to mention, of all the houses  (excepting perhaps Slytherin) they probably have produced the most undesirable people to hang out with. Don't believe me? Let me give you a few examples.
1) The emotionally unstable and fairly fickle Cho Chang. Is this girl an emotional masochist? "My boyfriend died and now I'm going to start dating my Plan 2 who was there when my boyfriend died. Of course all I'm going to want to talk about with him is quidditch and my dead boyfriend."
2) Michael Corner is a pretty decent guy. Except he just couldn't deal with the fact that his girl friend's house (Gryffindor) beat his own a Quidditch.
3) How about everyone's favorite party guest, Moaning Myrtle?
4) Oh and then there was Professor Quirrel. (Nough said)
5) OH I almost forgot about another defense against the Dark Arts teacher. The one directly after Professor Quirrel... Yes. Gilderoy Lockhart was actually a Ravenclaw.


"But WAIT! Gryffindor IS the best!" you might say "The main characters are Gryffindors! And J.K. Rowling is one herself! And they're chivalrous and heroic!"
Yeah but, are those really the most desirable qualities a person can have? They're good qualities, but for the basis of a person's character, their pretty weak. Chivalry and pride are much like the secondary House color of Gryffindor: Gold. Gold isn't really much good for anything except looking pretty. It's not anyone's first choice for a foundation of something strong that will last or do anyone any good whatsoever.
   And besides. J.K. Rowling may be a Gryffindor, and her daughter too, but she's stated, and makes it quite clear in numerous places on Pottermore, that in many ways, Hufflepuff is her favorite house.
   The Gryffindor Welcome Message isn't really all that substantive. I mean it doesn't actually tell you any of the finer points of the House. It's really just two short paragraphs of Percy Weasley telling you that you've just joined the best house.

And so to Hufflepuff:
Hufflepuff has long been considered by many as the useless house and, true, we probably receive the least spotlight in both the books and the movies. And the spotlight we DO get is far from flattering.
    So first there was the Second Book, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, in which, for a good chunk of the story, the Hufflepuffs are avoiding Harry for fear that he'll petrify them; or else propagating the rumors that Harry has really been a Dark Wizard from the day he was born. Ernie Macmillan, Chief source of these rumours, only denounces their validity after Hermione is petrified... which makes no sense because if Harry WAS the Heir of Slytherin, a Dark Wizard from birth, bent on wiping out all the Muggle-born students of Hogwarts, Harry would never have associated with Hermione in the first place.
    After this we get only snippets of Hufflepuff being their Hearty-good-fellow selves, until the Fourth book, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. For a goodly portion of THIS book we find Hufflepuff boycotting Harry once again, this time out of spite rather than fear: Cedric Diggory has been selected to represent Hogwarts in the Triwizard Tournament... but Harry, by the machinations of Barty Crouch Jr., is ALSO selected as a Champion, thus possibly stealing Hufflepuff's first chance at glory since... heaven knows. This shameful behavior (which is even displayed by their Head of House, Professor Sprout) adds to Hufflepuff's increasingly bad reputation as being mediocre wizards and pushovers. The Hufflepuffs grasped at this chance at glory with a depressing amount of desperation, displaying, in sharp relief, that years of being mocked, ignored and disrespected has given the members of this house a massive inferiority complex: when it seemed that this rare chance to prove themselves would be stolen, yet again, by Gryffindor  (Which has plenty glory to its name already!) the spite of ages reared it's ugly head.

The really galling thing though, is that those who don't regard us with disdain, regard us with condescension and pity, which is almost worse.
   "Oh poor Hufflepuff, they never can catch a break, can they? Here, let's let them win so they don't feel so bad about being duffers."

And about Cedric... Cedric was a good kid. He embodied many of the qualities of Hufflepuff House.  Most people who argue Hufflepuff's case like to use Cedric Diggory as an example of how Hufflepuffs aren't useless. They argue that if the plot hadn't interfered, Cedric would have won the Triwizard Tournament.
    But if we're going to expel the events of the plot as variables, we must expel ALL of them.
    Would Cedric have won? I'm not so sure. Cedric was an incredibly talented wizard, but he didn't do so well in the first task. His chosen technique was really... well it was silly. Plus, without Harry's tip-off about the Dragons, he probably would have tanked even worse.
     By Moaning Myrtle's witness, it took Cedric ages to riddle out the egg's clue for the second task. And if Barty Crouch Jr. hadn't told him to, Cedric would probably never have tried opening the egg underwater.

So I can hear all you Hufflepuffs reading this and asking "What about the good parts? I thought this article was supposed to highlight the fact that Hufflepuffs are better than we're broadcasted?" I'm just pointing out that yes, a lot of the bad press IS from the books. J.K. DIDN'T put us in a very good light and we can't just gloss over that. If we do, then people will just think we're in denial and dis-credit us. But NOW I'm going to move onto our exemplary qualities, which are many and varied.

Let's start with a huge beef I have: Hufflpuffs have been accused of cowardice. This is simply NOT true. The idea that all brave characters in Harry Potter MUST come from Gryffindor is pretty annoying. Tonks gave birth to a child and less than a week later went out to fight Death Eaters. Granted, her recuperating state is likely why (SPOILERS) she died, but that was very brave of her. And she was an auror, which is a career choice which requires much nerve. So yes, Tonks was a very courageous... for a Hufflepuff.
    The fact is that Hufflepuffs aren't necessarily cowards. We have the common sense to be cautious.
    When designing the common room and dormitories where her dear students would live, Helga Hufflepuff displayed the most common sense out of all of her colleagues.

Gryffindor Tower, as everyone knows is guarded by the portrait of the Fat Lady which hangs in the seventh floor corridor, and can only be accessed though the use of an occasionally changing password.
   Slytherin's Dungeon is sealed by a hidden door concealed in the wall and can only be accessed through the use of a frequently changing password.
    These methods seem to be fairly secure, but Harry and Ron are able to gain access to Slytherin's common room by employing sly means (disguise). It's kind of ironic, because you'd think, being a sly dude and all, that Slytherin would have thought to espionage proof his common room. But that was more arrogance on his part than anything, because he assumed that the only sly students in the school would be in his house.
    Gryffindor Tower seems to be the most vulnerable: its broken into in the third book, and this happens due to the flaw of using passwords: there is always going to be one person who needs to write them down. 
    As for Ravenclaw Tower, the entrance to their common room is clearly displayed at the top of a spiral staircase because the only way to gain access to the rooms beyond is to answer the riddles of the door's enchanted knocker. Now, by Ravenclaw's reasoning, if you could answer the question, you deserved to gain entry to the common room within... and that's not a bad idea, but for really protecting your students... it's not all that secure.


Get this, the Hufflepuff common room is, apart
from Ravenclaw, the only one to have an
actual likeness of it's House Founder. But where
the Ravenclaws only have a statue, we have 
PORTRAIT
But Hufflepuff's common room is, down in the basements in the same corridor as the kitchens. The entrance to the common room is concealed in a stack of barrels set into a niche in the wall. To enter you must tap the correct barrel in the correct rhythm with one's wand. Helga Hufflepuff was the only founder who installed a device to deter would-be intruders. Tap the wrong barrel or use the wrong rhythm, and all of the barrels will drench you in vinegar. It's not just if you do something wrong. If you open the door correctly, but you aren't a Hufflepuff, you will not be permitted entry. In the Thousand and some years since Hogwarts was founded, ONLY Hufflepuffs have ever seen or entered the Hufflepuff Common Room.
So Hufflepuff: Trustworty, but not too trusting.

This is yet another thing about Hufflepuff that people often use to point out that Hufflepuff is pretty cool.
       But there is a very valid argument that my sister used on me just the other day. An argument that plays to the validity of people's minds and not Helga Huffelpuff's competence.
       "Why would anyone WANT to get into the Hufflepuff Common Room?"
       And this is a good argument. The prejudice against Hufflepuffs is as deeply ingrained as the idea that Slytherins are an evil bunch of gits. The general consensus of any Hogwarts student would be that Hufflepuffs are not special or interesting or anything that would inspire someone to infiltrate another House's common room.
       I truly believe that this is a valid point and possibly a reason that no one except Hufflepuffs have ever seen our dormitories.
THAT is what other houses think. And that's a downfall, because they are underestimating us.
       I'd like to explore a few view points that the other essays on why people shouldn't hate on the honey badgers, don't think to explore: Not what Hufflepuffs ARE but what Hufflepuffs have the potential to be.

The thing with Hufflepuff is that we're just so... good. In terms of qualities and traits, Hufflepuff's are probably the strongest for the basis of an actual character. Honest, and patient, with unending perseverance and determination, a strong sense of justice and and a stronger work ethic.
    But we were first described as "loyal" and that equates us with dogs. Followers. Dumb sidekicks. Brainless minions.
Alright, someone as good as a Hufflepuff will never make an interesting MAIN character, it's true. But there IS plenty of latitude for Hufflepuffs as strong and likable supporting characters. And no, not JUST in the sense of a spunky and endearing klutz like Nymphadora Tonks.
   I'm sure many are familiar with Trufflehunter, the Badger from The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian. Trufflehunter is my favorite character in that movie, because he made me realize that badgers could be cool.
And he's voiced by Ken Stott. Which is just awesome!
Trufflehunter is a great character because he's wise and homey (you know, spending all morning making soup and all that) and even though he's very patient, he has a good handle of discipline on those who need it. But when it comes to fighting, like all badgers (And I won't be about any shrubbery here) he will quite literally maul your frickin' face off.
So why isn't there a Trufflehunter-like character in the Harry Potter series. Why hasn't Ken Stott been in Harry Potter?
Trufflehunter is, I think, what all Hufflepuffs should aspire to be. And he is proof that simply because we are patient, kind, loyal, long-suffering, determined hard workers, doesn't mean that Hufflepuffs don't make for good or interesting characters.

Hufflepuffs are famously reputed as being dimwits. Ravenclaw Prefect Robert Hilliard says in the Ravenclaw welcome message "And as for the Hufflepuffs, well no one can say they aren't nice people. In fact, they're some of the nicest people in the school. Let's just say that you needn't worry about them too much when it comes to competition during exam time."
     Let me just say that Mr. Hilliard was a fool for saying that. And if you take that as vindication for Hufflepuffs having the intellectual prospects of sweet potatoes, you are equally foolish. Not to mention this guff about us all being nice. I myself am a Hufflepuff and can tell you for an absolute certainty I know members of my house that will only be nice to you if you treat them in a like manner. The fact is that people with the amount of determination we do, have an enormous potential to be very ruthless.

Which brings me to a point that pretty much everybody uses to point out why it's a bad idea to underestimate Hufflepuff House.
The Honey Badger. Doesn't sound scary, right?
Wrong. Dead wrong.
Ever wondered why they're called honey badgers?
    Well I'll tell you. The reason why they're called Honey Badgers is because they pull the beehive down out of the tree, stick their noses in to the hive, and wantonly eat the honey. Then, for good measure, they usually eat the bee larvae as well. And the honey badger has such thick skin that the stinging bees are rendered utterly paltry and don't bother the badger at all. The Honey Badger (Or Ratel) is known to routinely eat poisonous snakes, including the Puff Adder, which is bad news for Slytherin. (And also, The PUFF adders. If that isn't ironic, tell me what is.) There was also one case in which a Honey Badger killed a male lion by running underneath it and tearing off... ahem, sorry, that is to say, did something unspeakable to it. Which is bad news for Gryffindor. And don't you Ravenclaws decide that your safe, because badgers eat birds too.

Ravelcalws with lofty wit, Gryffindors with brash courage, and Slytherins with sneaking (and soaring) ambition don't really stop to think where hard work can get you or what being willing to work that hard for something actually means.
    Above I mentioned that a possible reason for why no one has ever infiltrated the Hufflepuff Common room - because no one would want to. Has no one stopped to consider that perhaps our hearty-good-fellow manner is a front? Yes we're all cozy in our badger hole, but what are we thinking, doing, planning while we're holed up down there behind the hobbit doors?
    Just something to think about

The big problem here is the same problem you have with any kind of discrimination or bigotry: the word "all".
All Ravenclaws are logical: Wrong. Evidence: Luna Lovegood.
All Gryffindors are Chivalrous: Wrong. Evidence: Cormac McLaggen.
All Slytherins are heartless: Wrong: Evidence: Severus Snape.
All Hufflepuffs are dimwits: Wrong: Evidence: Pomona Sprout.

A House is not a label. What house you're placed in does not define who you are, but who you aspire to be. For instance, Harry never considered himself to be particularly courageous, but courage is a quality he comes to discover in himself.

*

   You see my point? I know that Hufflepuff will never prove itself in the eyes of the majority. Because the world is full of stubborn fools who haven't an ounce of common sense. Fools who just want a nice scapegoat
that can act as a convenient butt for all their crude Harry Potter jokes. Who don't want to give Hufflepuffs our credit because they like having someone to be better than. It's an unfortunate truth that highlights the worst of human qualities: arrogance.

One last thing before I go.
I would like to congratulate my fellow Hufflepuffs on winning the Pottermore House Cup in September.

So until I post again (Possibly with my Bellatrix Lestrange cosplay pictures),
This has been the Christian Home-Schooled Otaku.



Footnotes_______________________________________________________

Hatstall: When the Sorting Hat takes longer than five minutes to decide what house a particular person should be in, that person is known as a Hatstall. To be a hatstall on Pottermore means that you answered the sorting questions in such a manner that you could belong to one of two houses. In this event you are given the opportunity to choose between those two houses.

Yes, I know that the animal on that Sigil is a bear. J.K. Rowling was originally going to use a bear as the symbol for Hufflepuff House.









Friday, April 5, 2013

The Home-Schooled Otaku... AT ZENKAIKON 2013!

YES! YES! IT'S TRUE THE CHRISTIAN, HOME-SCHOOLED OTAKU CAN FINALLY SAY SHE HAS GONE TO A CON! WOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(Regaining Composure) Ahem. Yes, I am aware that Zenkaikon was about two weeks ago, but well, my posts take FOREVER to write. Well, lets have a look at the Japanese Word of the Day.
Japanese Word of the Day: Zenkai {Pronounced: Zen-k-high} (Full-force; all-out; full speed)

Zenkaikon is the main Con for the Philadelphia area. Until recent years, Zenkaikon has been held in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania. It moved around a bit to Valley Forge and Oaks, PA; and then, last year, it was announced that Zenkaikon was moving to Lancaster, PA, which happens to be... PRACTICALLY THE HOME-SCHOOLED OTAKU'S BACKYARD! The event ran from March 22 - 24 and my humble self was lucky enough to attend (with a VIP pass).
   Zenkaikon 2013's guests of honor included actors such as, John de Lancie, Richard Epcar, and Ellyn Stern (the latter two of which the Home-schooled Otaku did not see AT ALL, though she did almost walk straight into John de Lancie, and catch some of his Q + A Session). Other guests included, "geek specific" comedian, Uncle Yo; Steve Yurko of the Unofficial One Piece Podcast; and certified kimono consultant* and Edo Tsumami Kanzashi* artisan, Kanawa Kuniko-sensei.

Now, the Home-schooled Otaku would love to show you some pictures of the event (And her Bellatrix Lestrange cosplay*), but sadly this is not possibly as she was not afforded the luxury of a camera.
 So the Otaku will simply have to settle for giving you a walk-through of her weekend.

As you may have deduced, this was the Home-schooled Otaku's very first Con experience, and she was not disappointed.  Having survived her weekend on the traditional Con-goer's rations (granola bars, beef jerky, Gatorade, and Pocky), and about 5 to 6 hours of sleep per day, I am proud to report back to my readers: It was GREAT.

  The Home-schooled Otaku's weekend started with her waking up at a considerably earlier hour than she is accustomed to, and being ferried into Lancaster by her mother, accompanied by her two companions. We then had to wait in the lower lobby of the Lancaster Convention Center for about twenty minutes until the Prop Check was set up and one of our party (who was dressed in a Zabuza cosplay) could pass through into the convention proper.
   With time to spare before the start of the first workshop I wanted to attend, the three of us popped into the viewing rooms to catch some snippets of Black Cat, and Kenichi: The Mightiest Disciple.
    Sadly the Home-schooled Otaku was not able to attend the Opening Ceremonies for Zenkaikon 2013, because she was in the Edo Tsumami Kanzashi workshop trying to compose an adequate plum blossom hair pin under Kanawa Kuniko-sensei's watchful eye (without getting too much rice starch adhesive on her fingers.) Ironically, the best Kanzashi in the class were crafted by two men in their twenties.
    With a significant free gap before our next event, we decided to view the video's entered for the AMV contest. Though she was unable to view the Awards Ceremony the following evening, the Home-schooler must give credit where credit is due: some of the nominations (particularly in the Action genre) were truly impressive. Others, specifically those in the "Annoying" division, lived up to the title of their category.
    Here, the Home-schooled Otaku and her sister parted from the third member of our party and headed up to watch Kanawa-sensei dress one of the convention staff in the traditional formal garb for a Japanese man (albeit in Hakama* that were about two inches too short for him).
    We then headed downstairs, regrouped with the third member of our party in the main event hall and patiently awaited for John de Lancie's Q + A session to end so Uncle Yo could get up on stage and say "SORRY" to every political party, minority, and clique; every person or group of people of every race, sexual persuasion, religion, profession, special needs disorder, psychological disorder, philosophy, colour, creed, gender, social standing, walk of life, and nationality (Even, if reluctantly, the French); to all the Elves and Orcs and Dwarves and... uh HOBBITS; to EVERY Trekkie, Whovian, Potterhead, Twilighter, Narutard, Avatard, and BRONY*; and to EVERY facet or sub-division of Geekdom or Nerd-kind THAT HE HAS EVER OFFENDED ON ANY OCCASION ANYWHERE. You may have noticed that he forgot HOME-SCHOOLERS. I take this as good thing because I know that it happens to mean that WE CAN TAKE A STUPID JOKE (I know because I'm Home-schooled*). Amongst other rants in his routine, Uncle Yo also pointed out the reason why Sonic the Hedgehog should never run as fast as you want him to; that someday Pinkie Pie will end up on Applejack's sofa with pixie stix shoved up her nose, that Sailor Moon took WAY too long to change into a pair of boots and a bell; that the most recent trilogy of Batman movies would have been soooo much more interesting had Dr. Seuss done the screenplay; and that middle-aged women who watch The Big Bang Theory DON'T KNOW AS MUCH ABOUT GEEKS AS THEY THINK THEY DO.
   The Home-schooled Otaku was expecting all of this. And she also knew - somehow she just KNEW - when she and her sister sat down smack in front of the stage, that at some point Uncle Yo was going to jump down off the stage and shout something in her face. What she was not expecting was that what he shouted would be "HAVE YOU ACCEPTED PRINCESS CELESTIA AS YOUR PERSONAL LORD AND SAVIOR?!!!"
    As you can imagine the Home-schooled Otaku began to positively shriek with laughter. She looks forward to the day that she can go on YouTube, find a recording of Uncle Yo at Zenkaikon 2013 and listen to her own maniacal cackling.
    After Uncle Yo was finished inflicting his comedy upon us all, The Home-schooled Otaku and her sister headed to the One Piece Podcast Panel. Now, the Home-schooler is perfectly willing to confess that her knowledge (and consequently her sister's as well) of One Piece is minimal, at best... but as Steve Yurko was forced to brave the horrors of Zenkaikon alone, and we do happen to appreciate his coming to PA, we thought we could at least show up and hear what he had to say. The crowd was a tad sparse, but I'd say the quality of the cosplays and devotion of the attending fans more than made up for that. 
    Our first day at Zenkaikon ended with us being very tired and, in my sister's case, rather cranky. She said she didn't think she liked cons very much. The Home-schooled Otaku's sister, you see, is something of an introvert. She doesn't like big crowds, and she DOESN'T  like to get up early. She's also not used to being shamelessly and unabashedly geeky.

On Saturday morning, after we'd managed to chisel ourselves out of bed, the first panel we attended was focused on Saturday morning cartoons from the late 80's and early 90's. Though this was a little before the Home-schooled Otaku's generation, she and her companions did enjoy it immensely. She also had the Thunder Cats theme stuck in her head for the rest of the day.
     Zenkaikon was also the Home-schooled Otaku's first real-life experience with the Hetalia Fan-base. Again, she was not disappointed. She and her sister attended a Hetalia trivia game panel hosted by Ukraine Belarus, England and China (cosplayers). Prussia and Punk Rock England both let loose their sonic screwdrivers; Hungary left Austria for the man with the Golden Wok*; and thanks to some technical difficulties, no one who was in attendance will ever forget which three countries make up the cooking club ever again. Only one serious comment was posed to the panel - one pertaining to the series not explaining and exploring the motives and catalysts leading up to WW2. It was explained that Hetalia is a comedy series and doesn't really focus on the darker aspects of the historical references, because that isn't the point of the series.* However, a serious answer was given, and that was the end of the matter. In all it was a fun panel, and the Home-schooler hopes that the next time she gets an opportunity to attend a similar event, she will finally have pulled together that Greece cosplay she's been dying to do. (I JUST NEED THE ORTHODOX CROSS, DANG IT!)
     The Home-schooled Otaku's next event was a manga workshop in which she got some pointers on how to actually draw hands. The following time gap was then filled by watching the unadulterated tackiness that is the English Dub of Buso Renkin.
     That mattered little, however, as it was immediately followed by a screening of the unadulterated BRILLIANCE that CLUE. Clue is, in the Home-schooled Otaku's favorite movie EVER. EVER. Most of the people who walked into the screening room left as soon as they found out it wasn't anime. Those who remained, decided to stay put as soon as the opening credits ran; and so much the better. Even though I have seen the movie thousands of times; even though Madeline Khan's "Flames... on the side of my face" speech never gets old.and even though hearing Eileen Brennan spaz out is always funny, for some reason, watching a brass candlestick fall on Tim Curry's head  is just funnier when your surrounded by a bunch of like-minded, geeky people in cosplay. Everything - even movies you have loved for years and know by heart - is more fun at a con. Don't ask me why. That's just how it is. Watching this movie was probably the Home-schooled Otaku's favorite part of Zenkaikon 2013.
      NO! Wait! I tell a lie. Clue was great, and certainly very fun, but it has to be given a second place ribbon, because of what the Home-schooled Otaku experienced next.
      The same screening room was the showcase for Zenkaikon's review of some of their favorite AMV's from previous years and other cons. Though there were some technical difficulties that forced the crowd to listen to the opening strains of"Be Prepared" from The Lion King (which was set to an Ootori Kyoya AMV) about ten times, there were some truly amazing videos. One of these (incidentally the last one the Home-schooled Otaku saw before she had to leave) was for "My Last Day", an anime movie about the Crucifixion of Christ, seen though the eyes of the thief on the cross next to Jesus. This video, set to "Already Over" by Red, had a profound emotional impact on the Home-schooled Otaku and her sister, and both were reduced to tears a little less than half-way though. When the video was first shown it was very controversial, but despite the content, they decided that the quality of the video itself merited a second place prize and an over all Best Video in the Drama category. This AMV's presence at the Zenkaikon made the Home-schooler feel a little less guilty about skipping Church the next day and it was a very influential part of her very first con.

Much more influential, I must say, than the Religion in Anime panel that the Home-schooled Otaku and her sister attended the following morning. Granted, it was the presenter's very first panel, but suffice it to say, Her Home-Schooledness was not impressed. The featured religions included Shinto, Buddhism, Roman Catholicism and, of course, Jashinism. The reason why I listed Roman Catholicism specifically is because that is the only denomination that was featured in the animes that were given as examples (Blue Exorcist, Trinity Blood, etc.) and the panelist herself was raised in a Roman Catholic family. The Home-schooled Otaku is a Protestant herself, and cannot stress enough that Catholics do have practices and beliefs, and even a mythology* that are not followed by many other denominations. Catholicism is, however, probably the most widely practiced denomination of Christianity in Japan and, frankly, the only one that has the... flair shall we say, to really suit the plot of an anime.
   The section on Shinto mythology was a little more satisfactory and was supplemented by a clip from Miyazaki Hayao's Princess Mononoke. This was followed by a short segment on Buddhism.
    Alchemy was also covered though it is not a religion, it is a pseudo-science. Hearing someone try to explain the Alchemy featured in Fullmetal Alchemist when that person only has a vague memory of watching the "Original" [fabricated] Fullmetal Alchemist* anime, and who hasn't read the manga at all is, quite frankly, a good occasion for a face-palm.
    Lastly, if you ask me, Jashinism, and its presence in one of the most well known animes in history, deserves a good in depth analysis and explanation, not just a quick glance over like the one you give your non-otaku friend who wants to know just what the heck a "Jashin" is.

Having whiled away the time watching xxxHolic, the Home-schooled Otaku attended her last event at Zenkaikon 2013 was a Japanese Language and Culture workshop. Though she didn't really learn anything that she didn't already know except the difference between the particles "wa" and "ga", it was a very good workshop, and the Home-schooled Otaku is glad she went. One exercise was a game of twenty questions, in which a victim - sorry, volunteer had to guess what anime character they were by asking yes or no questions in Japanese. The Home-schooler was actually one of those volunteers. The questions I asked were probably ones other people may not have thought to ask, such as "Watashi wa kowai desu ka?" ["Am I scary?"], which was directly followed by "Watashi wa Kakko ii desu ka?" ["Am I attractive?"] and "Watashi wa yasashii desu ka?" ["Am I kind?"]. Even after the first to questions got a "yes", and the last garnered a "NO", The Home-schooled Otaku still couldn't guess that she was supposed to be Yagami Light.

My weekend was littered with many fabulous and inspired cos-plays such as a superb Captain Jack Sparrow, an ingenious Invader Zim, and a 10th Doctor that looked a little too much like the real thing for comfort.
   Though as always, there were some cos-plays that were so prolific, I hope I never have to see them again: There were innumerable Hatsune Mikus, countless Pikachus... AND IF I EVER HAVE TO SEE ANOTHER HOMESTUCK TROLL AGAIN, THEY WILL RUE THE DAY THEY DONNED THE CANDY CORN HORNS!
 Just kidding.

My weekend at Zenkaikon 2013 was truly amazing. The Home-schooled Otaku was very happy she had the opportunity to attend, and she sincerely hopes that she will be able to go next year. Hopefully with some cos-plays of her own.


Footnotes_____________________________________________________________

 Kimono Consultants: As with most traditional Japanese practices, even dressing in Kimono is an extremely complicated and time-consuming undertaking. As the number of women in Japan who have the knowledge and ability to dress themselves in kimono without assistance is gradually declining, the services of a professional kimono consultant or dresser is required. Kimono consultants study at colleges specifically founded for the job such as the Sodo Reihou Kimono College.

Edo Tsumami Kanzashi: Kanzashi are traditional ornamental hairpieces and hair pins. Today, Kanzashi in a traditional style are only worn by Maiko [apprentice Geisha], because they can only be worn with a traditional hairstyle. However, Kanawa Kuniko-sensei crafts contemporary pieces using traditional methods in a bobby-pin format. Maiko-san change their hairpins according to the flowers of the season, so Kanawa-sensei taught us how to make hairpins with an ume (plum blossom) motif to match the month of March, when plum blossoms bloom. Were it April, they would have been sakura (cherry blossoms).

My Bellatrix Lestrange Cosplay: to be featured in a follow-up post.

Hakama {Ha-kah-mah}: An article of traditional Japanese clothing that resembles a pair of wide-legged trousers.

Brony: A Brony (Plural: Bronies) is a person of the male gender (of any age, creed, color or sexual persuasion) who happens to be a die-hard fan of the My Little Pony Franchise.

Home-schoolers: The Home-schooled Otaku did point out to Uncle Yo that he failed to include home-schoolers in his apology rant. He replied, "Home-schoolers? No. Never: they never deserve it.
 In spite of this, as I mention above, I know for a fact that Home-schoolers can take jokes, because even (if not especially) HOME-SCHOOLERS make fun of home-schoolers. So take THAT, Karl  <---[Uncle Yo's real name]

The Man with the Golden Wok: China. this is a reference to China's technique of fighting other countries with a wok and a ladle.

Serious Questions About Hetalia: It should be noted that asking a serious historical question in a room filled with fan-girls in cosplay (most of whom are Yaoi fan-girls) is not strictly tactical, nor is it a very wise thing to do. Though, there is the possibility that the point of the comment was to see if any of the fans in the room were actually aware of the dark, unpleasant and true events that led up to and ran through out the World  Wars, and other conflicts depicted in the series. I am aware of these causes and horrors, and China did reject a question about the Opium Wars with England because she'd just learned about them in school and didn't want to talk about that subject. If you look at Hetalia fan-art, much if it focuses on the drama and darker aspects of world history, so the Home-schooled Otaku feels safe in saying that many Hetalia fans are indeed aware of the catalysts in many of history's wars.

 Judeo-Christian and Catholic Mythology: The CHRISTIAN Home-schooled Otaku uses the term "mythology" very loosely, and only for lack of a more suitable word.
   Some facts: Despite there being many angels in the Catholic Bible, Michael and Gabriel are the only ones that are considered Canon by Protestants. All the others are exclusive to Catholic texts | Lucifer and Satan are considered to be separate entities by Catholics, but Protestants use both names to refer to the same fallen angel | The name Lilith is used in several animes with Christian mythological themes, but she is never mentioned in the Bible - she is, in fact, a female demon (and/or vampire) from Jewish mythology.

Original Fullmetal Alchemist: There are two anime adaptations of Fullmetal Alchemist. Because the manga wasn't very far along when author Arakawa Hiromu was approached for the first series, almost everything in the so-called "original" anime was fabricated and does not hold true in the manga. Plus, from what I can tell, the ending sucked. Unlike in the second (and in my opinion MUCH BETTER) anime,  Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. Brotherhood, unlike the first series, takes almost no departures from the original storyline of the manga: though some panels and details were excluded, no details were added and none of Arakawa-sensei's Alchemical laws are changed. The ending is also far more satisfactory.

Saturday, February 16, 2013

Ouran High School Host Club: The Otaku Reviews

Irashaimasen! (Welcome!)
And the Japanese word of the day is... Bikgaku (Aesthetic, appearance) {Pronounced: Bee-gah-koo}
Today, the Home-schooled Otaku will be reviewing one of her favorite shoujou animes: Ouran High School Host Club.
So without any further ado...

Millennium Snow author, Hatori Bisco's high school romance/comedy Ouran Highs School Host Club (Ouran Koko Hostabu) first bloomed on the pages of Hakusensha's LaLa magazine in the September of 2002 and steamrolled its way through (with the elegance of a rose and the bang of a fire cracker) right up to the series' end in November of 2010. The 26 episode anime adaptation premiered in Japan on April 4, 2006 and ran until September 26 of the same year. Licensed in North America by FUNimation Entertainment, the first and second volumes of the anime were released on October 8, 2008 and January 6, 2009 respectively.

The series protagonist is Fujioka Haruhi, a pragmatic high-school first year who was accepted to Tokyo's prestigious (and vibrantly pink) Ouran Academy on a scholarship, and who hopes to become a lawyer after leaving school.
       The series opens with Haruhi looking for nothing but a quiet place to study - as all three of the school's king-sized libraries are full of chattering rich kids, this is harder than it should be - and accidentally stumbling into the unused third music room. Haruhi doesn't know it yet, but this is where the members of the famous Ouran Host Club* (comprised only of the most charming boys the academy has to offer) hold their regular activities of entertaining the school's most bored and romantically starved young ladies by offering up tea, scones, and gilded flattery on a silver platter, free of charge.
        As Haruhi opens the door to a swirl of rose petals, the host club wonders for a second exactly what
an honor student  (and a commoner* at that) is doing walking into a host club . . . but never mind that! The host club's first priority should be to ascertain which host most suits their new customer. The "Little Devil" type? The "Wild" type, or the "Boy Lolita"? The "Cool" type? Or even Suou Tamaki, the Host Club's Prince?
       Well . . . NONE. Haruhi wants nothing to do with it in fact. Not that Tamaki, the King of the Host Club, can hear the former's repeated stuttering protests (No! Really this is a big mistake!); Haruhi backs away, and a Renaissance vase worth 8 MILLION YEN* is broken in the process. Of course, Haruhi (who is not even able to afford a proper Ouran school uniform) can't really pay the hosts back. Well, not with money at least. Instead, Haruhi must join the club and learn to entertain the ladies until the hosts declare the debt repaid. To do this, Haruhi must get 100 girls to request him. This naturally calls for a makeover - after having trashed the outsized specs, loaned him a uniform, and made him presentable, the hosts declare Haruhi open for business. Sure he flounders a bit at first, but he soon finds that the key to making the girls happy is to be natural and polite. The guests just love to see that sweet and tragic look in his eye as they hear the story of how his mother died ten years ago, and they marvel as they learn what the life of a commoner is really like.
       The hosts can't figure out just why Haruhi is such a natural.
       What the hosts (And viewer) don't know is that the reason why Haruhi knows just what the girls like, is because Haruhi himself isn't a "he" at all. As the hosts gradually discover throughout the first episode, Haruhi is really a she. A she who doesn't really care whether she is regarded as a boy or a girl. In her opinion, the only thing that matters is that a person should be recognized more for who they are, rather than for what gender they are. Furthermore, Haruhi agrees to stay on at the host club, living her school life as a boy, until she repays her debt.
        Now the host club must keep Haruhi's secret from their clients and the rest of the school, and Haruhi must learn to deal with the idiosyncrasies of being one of the Ouran Hosts. Oh and she also has to deal with the fact that Tamaki, the suave and spastic club president is falling in love with her and doesn't really get it.

The Ouran Host Club (Left to right): Ootori Kyoya (Back),
Hitachiin Kaoru, Hitachiin Hikaru, Suou Tamaki,
Fujioka Haruhi, Haninozuka "Honey" Mitsukuni,
Morinozuka "Mori" Takashi
Meet the Hosts:
First there's second year student, Suou Tamaki, the Host Club's King. His request rate is 70%. Tamaki charms the ladies with the kind of lines they pine for from their Prince Charming. Tamaki started the host club for one reason: to make girls happy. But any deserving person who walks into the third music room will receive the host clubs help (in some cases, whether they like it or not). Each episode features some ridiculous quest from the host club to help someone - from reuniting a young couple, to reforming the kind-hearted heir to a Yakuza syndicate, if Tamaki and his club can help (and even if they can't) they will.
Tamaki is one of the most contradictory characters in anime history. While he is smooth with the ladies, he can turn into a spaz in a trice. He is at once, egotistical and selfless. Vain, but virtuous, no part of his character his fake. While it seems impossible that he can actually mean what he says to his guests, he does. All of it. He is truly... indescribable.

Then there's Ootori Kyoya, the Host Club's scheming vice-president and treasurer. Kyoya keeps the host club afloat by using his shadowy charm to market picture books of the host club members in all their glory. He uses this revenue to balance the budget. Kyoya is the one voice of reason in the series - without him this show would be non-stop craziness. Fittingly referred to as the "Shadow King", Kyoya is the host clubs dark side. But though he says he doesn't do anything if doesn't benefit him, Haruhi can see that even Kyoya is not as heartless as he seems.

The first year Hitachiin Twins, Hikaru and Kaoru, intrigue their guests with their Forbidden Brotherly Love routine. Not only are they brothers, but they're also identical, which gets them extra drama points. They're niche is symmetry: to create a scene, appealing to their guests eyes. They offer the kind of live guilty pleasure the girls just can't get anywhere else.
     Apart from their brotherly love act, the Hitachiins also fulfill the mischievous twins archetype and are constantly causing mayhem and speaking in unison. Tamaki frequently refers to the Hitachiins using terms like "those shady twins" and "doppelgangers". 

Let's not forget third years Haninozuka "Honey" Mitsukuni and Morinozuka "Mori" Takashi. In spite of the fact that Honey-senpai is an eighteen-year-old prodigy from an old and respected family of martial artists, he is no more than 4 foot 9 inches tall, has blond hair and likes cake, bunnies and cute things. His voice also seems to have failed to break. With his pink stuffed bunny, Usa-chan, in tow Honey's cuteness makes the girls squeal with delight.
     Tall, dark and silent Mori-senpai is Honey's cousin and best friend. A man of few words Mori is the oldest member of the club, outstripping Honey by only a few months. Mori's draw is his strong and silent disposition. (Unless of course he hasn't slept for a while at which point he becomes very talkative indeed*.) Honey and Mori are a package deal, since Honey seems to be Mori's first priority. This gives their combination depth . . . and a significant deal of moe*.

And the hosts aren't the only colorful characters you meet. In episode four of the anime we are introduced to Houshakuji Renge, the Host Club's manager. A rabid otaku, Renge's appearance was quite a nuisance at first, but the hosts later find that, as Renge spends most of her time reading manga and playing dating sims, her knowledge of what girls like makes her an invaluable asset.
There's also Nekozawa Umehito, the cloak-clad President of Ouran's Black Magic Club; Kasanoda Ritsu, a Yakuza Boss in the making with a kind-streak; Haruhi's father "Ranka", who works as a professional transvestite; and the villainous Zuka Club, a trio of oppressively flashy* students from St. Lobelia's Girls' Academy who hold a grudge against the entire male sex and try to ruffle the Host Club's feathers by attempting to Shanghai Haruhi.

While I wouldn't say that this is a good choice of anime to show to your parents (especially those of you who's parents are of pretty conservative mindsets), what with the twincest, and the cross-dressing, not to mention the scandalous Zuka Club, scratch the surface of the zaniness, and this show really does have a strong air of chivalry and wholeheartedness (Take an in-depth look at Tamaki to see what I'm getting at).

One thing that makes me incredibly happy is that the series is licensed in North America by FUNimation Entertainment. The acting and engineering for the series is simply phenomenal, and in my opinion, this is one of the very best English dubs of an anime I have ever heard - certainly in my top three. The ADR* Director for the series, Caitlin Glass (Winry, Fullmetal Alchemist) provides the voice of Haruhi, playing opposite the incomparable Vic Mignogna (Edward Elric, Fullmetal Alchemist). The series also stars other such talented voices as Todd Haberkorn (Keroro, Sgt. Frog), Greg Ayers (Ganta, Deadman Wonderland), J. Michael Tatum (Sebastian, Black Butler), Travis Willingham (Col. Mustang, Fullmetal Alchemist), Luci Christian (Medusa, Soul Eater), Patrick Seitz (Germany, Hetalia), Christopher R. Sabat (Zoro, One Piece), and Monica Rial (Mayaya, Princess Jellyfish).

One thing about the voice work in Ouran High School Host Club that will impress those who, like me, cringe whenever we hear a Japanese name mispronounced, is that almost all of the names are pronounced properly. Yes. Even those tricky ones with "R"s in them. Although even Caitlin Glass didn't get the name "Arai" right. Can we please try to round off that "A" on the front so the name doesn't come out sounding like "Awry"?

I know the series has been our for a while now, but only just recently has a copy come into my ownership. Not only does owning the series on DVD give you access to six fantastic, funny, and insightful actor commentaries, but you also get two of the most hilarious reels of outtakes I've ever heard.

In short, rather than just watching the English Dub on your computer, or resorting to the Fan Subs, GO BUY THE SERIES, THE POWER OF COMEDY COMPELS YOU!! That and, if you really love the actors, they get paid when you actually buy the series.

Well, that's all for now. So, while the Ouran Host Club may not be waiting for you, The Home-schooled Otaku will! Omachishite arimasu! (See you then!)

 Footnotes_____________________________________________________________

Host Clubs: Host clubs are common in Japan. They are mainly visited by the wives of Japanese businessmen while their husbands are away. The customers enjoy drinks, conversation and flirting. It doesn't sound reputable, but, like everything at Ouran, this isn't your average host club.

Commoners: Being rich, and oblivious to the less wealthy world outside their estates, Ouran students (including the host club) refer to normal, working class people as "commoners". When the Host Club sends Haruhi our on an errand run to buy more coffee, Haruhi purchases instant coffee, something the hosts thought of only as an urban legend. Since its such a novelty, the hosts become rather fond of this "Commoner's Coffee", and Kyoya, the host club vice-president and treasurer, has no problem with this, as this "instant coffee" is significantly easier on the budget than the whole-bean variety the club is used to.

The Broken Vase: The vase that Haruhi breaks is noted as being worth 8 million yen. In the United States that equals a whopping $89,711 (and 25 cents). Imagine yourself in Haruhi's position. Ouch.

Senpai: An honorific suffix used to refer to upperclassmen: those who are older or more skilled than the speaker, and whom the speaker respects.

A talkative Mori: This is never featured in the anime, though no doubt Mori's English voice actor, Travis Willingham, would have welcomed the change of pace. Mori's line count per episode averages in the single digits and saying little more than "yeah" for 26 episodes does tend to get boring.

Moe: Ah, moe! This is a tough term to pin down. It's difficult to explain, but one thing that can be said is that it refers to cuteness and passion. The term is alluded to numerous times in Ouran after the host club's lady manager, Houshakuji Renge (a rabid otaku) ignites the "flames of moe" by introducing the theme to the club's guests. Mori's devotion to Honey was the perfect example, and the pair became the Host Club's go-to combo for your moe fix.

The Zuka Club's Oppressive Flashiness: The Zuka Club (A.K.A. St. Lobelia's White Lily League) is introduced during an inter-school culture festival, where they perform for the students at Ouran. According to the club member's, their singing and acting is well received wherever they perform, but they seem oblivious to the fact that the good reception only ever comes from their own deluded fan-girls.  Hardly surprising when it seems they only ever sing four syllables: Lo-bel-i-a.

ADR Director: ADR stand for Automatic Dialogue Replacement. Essentially this is the technical term for dubbing work. ADR directors oversee direction in voice acting and are sometimes referred to as "Voice Directors". Some companies (VIZ Media for example) will credit them as such, but FUNimation usually uses the technical term. This is called Professionalism.

Monday, January 7, 2013

The Christian Home-Schooled Otaku on Hetalia

Good Day! The Home-Schooled Otaku does apologize for not posting for so long. I... I really don't have an excuse except that I'm uber lazy.
Today's Japanese word is: "Hetare" (Spineless; useless; pathetic; wimpy - in a cute or endearing way) {Pronounced: Hey-tah-ray}

Today we will be talking about the anime/manga/webcomic HETALIA.

The Hetalia series allegorically* misrepresents World War II and various other historical and political events with comedy and light innuendo here and there. Countries are personified as people (mainly cute, young men and women), given personalities and appearances based upon popular stereotypes, and political alliances are represented by social and romantic relationships. Alliances are represented as countries becoming "friends" and going to live at each others houses. For instance, Italy, Germany, and Japan all became buddies and started World War II.

The series' title is a combination of Italia - the Italian pronunciation of the country's name, and our Japanese Word of the Day (seen above) - Hetare (which in essence is a term for a lovable loser) to make the word Hetalia. Italy is the series main protagonist, though the country is split up into two separate characters.
 Italy Veneziano, the north of the country,is the protagonist character and is portrayed as an annoying, but endearing Nancy boy, who will surrender at the slightest provocation with the wave of one of his many white flags.
 Italy Romano is his older twin brother, the south of the country; Romano is foul mouthed, short tempered and can be extremely jealous, especially when Italy says nice things about his buddy Germany. It would seem that the one thing Romano shares in common with his brother, apart from their adamant love of pizza, pasta and women, is the curl in there hair (which characterizes every Italiano in the series) and the fact that neither of them will ever understand how a grenade works.
To distinguish, Veneziano is normally simply referred to as "Italy", and his twin is referred to as "Romano".
The brother's were split up when they were kids in the Fourteenth Century. Italy was taken to Holy Roman Empire's house with Austria and Hungary, and did all the housework, while Romano was raised by his older brother Spain, who introduced the tomato to Italy.

Germany is Italy's best buddy in the whole world. And by buddy, I of course mean "baby sitter". Germany is tall, blond-haired, blue-eyed, and strict. Sometimes he's a bit of a kill-joy, but Italy would be lost without him, and Germany doesn't have any other friends. Germany first started taking care of Italy after World War I, and then when WW2 rolled around, Italy sided with Germany then too, even if Germany did put potatoes in pretty much everything he cooked.

Japan was a mystery to everyone when he came into the story with his shiny black hair and dull brown eyes. Up until about seventy years before the second world war, Japan had locked himself in his room and didn't want to talk to anyone unless they had a cute animal with them. But then, America changed that, and Japan pulled himself up by his bootstraps and kicked Russia's butt in the Russo-Japanese war, instating himself as a force to be reckoned with. Then he became friends with Germany and Italy to form the Axis Powers. He may have made friends now, but their cultures are very different, and Japan is constantly suffering from culture shock.

And that's just the Axis. I could continue on to America, and his constant insistence that he's the HERO!; England* and his bushy eyebrows and nasty food; France and his silly accent, constantly bickering with UK; Russia, who has the innocence and cruelty of a child, having cracked from his bloody history; and China, a wonderful cook, but rebellious, who fights the Axis with his mighty wok and ladle!

Or to the Germanic nations such as uptight and slightly foppish Mr. Austria, who expresses anger with Chopin; Miss Hungary, a woman who knows how to take care of herself and is Austria's ex-wife; Switzerland, who remains neutral in all things, and constantly arms himself with a rifle; Liechtenstein, Switzerland's adoptive little sister who depends on him fore everything and is always grateful to him; and Prussia, Germany's awesome red-eyed, silver-haired older brother who admittedly is kind of a bully and has a diary dating as far back as the 14th Century.

Russia  used to have a family called the Soviet Union, but they broke up sometime ago. It included Russia's  older sister, Ukraine, who is very nice, but really plain. She's poor, so she has to farm all the time, and is usually targeted by other countries because her bust is so huge. Then there's Russia's little sister, Miss Belarus, who is very pretty but kind of a psycho. She loves her big brother a lot... in fact she loves him a little too much and regularly breaks down doors and tries to make him marry her. And don't forget the Baltic States - Quiet Estonia, timid Lithuania, and poor little Latvia, who is short because, for some reason, Russia always presses down on Latvia's head whenever he comes home. We're not quite sure where Poland belongs, but we are sure that he's a brat... and unlucky... and likes to dress as a girl.

Oh yeah, and there are those great Mediterranean nations, Greece and Turkey who are always at each others' throats. Not quite sure why that is... oh wait, it could be that Turkey ruled Greece from the 15th century until 1821. But for whatever reason Greece and Turkey hate each other, and it doesn't help that both they, and Mr. Holland* all want to be Japan's best friend. And Mr. Holland is a scary dude.

Let's see, who else is there? Ah there are too many countries in the world. Don't just take my word for it, look the series up. So far the series has been adapted into a manga* and hit anime series with two seasons (Hetalia: Axis Powers, and Hetalia World Series), and a third season, Hetalia: The Wonderful World is on its way. As is, the first two seasons were dubbed by the great FUNimation Entertainment and feature a great variety of special features, and a colourful and talented cast including the great J. Michael Tatum, Todd Haberkorn, and Brina Palencia.

In 2009, October 24th* , was selected by fans of Hetalia to be the day they celebrated the anime, gathering in various places all around the world to share fan-art, doujinshi*, fan-fiction, and various other hand-crafty projects, as well as sport cos-plays of the characters. It has been celebrated every year since, and events always take place on the 24th (or the weekend closest, if the 24th falls on a weekday). In 2012, I celebrated Hetalia Day by crocheting the the flags of 35 of the countries, nations, states and kingdoms (both existing and dissolved) featured in the series in the 40 days and 40 nights leading up to the big day - a truly Biblical undertaking.

Until we meet again, this is the Christian, Home-Schooled Otaku signing off.

Footnotes_________________________________________________________________

Allegory - an allegory is a story in which the characters are representations of idea's objects or places. Such as countries and stuff.

England - This character is called "England" in the Japanese version, but to try and save the series from being the most politically incorrect thing ever (too late), it was changed to United Kingdom for the American release. This doesn't quite work however, because the character represents England only, and not the entire United Kingdom: Scotland is once mentioned on his own and is therefore a separate entity. Northern Ireland and Wales haven't been mentioned at all so far.

Holland - Though the nation is officially known as the "Kingdom of the Netherlands", most Dutch people actually prefer to call their country Holland, as "The Netherlands" is also the name of one of the sovereign states within the nation, and thus it is simply less confusing to call it Holland. Its rather similar to the way Scottish people really don't like to be called "British" in spite of the fact that Scotland is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Hetalia Day - It is not uncommon for fans of the anime industry to select certain days to celebrate certain animes and characters. For instance, October 3rd was christened "Fullmetal Alchemist Day", commemorating the day that the series' protagonists, the Elric Brothers, began their epic journey. In 2011 it was given an entire week --as the date was exactly as it is inscribed in Edward's pocket watch: "Don't forget, 3rd, Oct. Year 11-- and advertised by Vic Mignogna, Ed's American voice actor.

October 24th - If you look on certain calenders, you will find that October 24th is known as United Nations' Day by normal people. We anime freaks have turned it into a holiday I would actually like to celebrate.


Friday, June 22, 2012

How the Christian, Home-schooled Otaku Became Just That

Konnichiwa! It's the Christian, home-schooled, otaku here!
This week's Japanese word is: Onee (Big Sister) {Pronounced: Oh-nay}
Now it's time for the story of how I got caught up in the sand-trap known as anime.
I say "sand trap" for a very good reason: see, once you really get into anime, there's really no way to get out of it. You'll find yourself squealing over fictional people for pretty much the rest of your life. It's really not as miserable as it sounds, but you might die laughing from inside jokes that you share with your anime friends.
So this is my story. I should mention that much of the following incorporates my sister. Since I am home-schooled and have no friends that I get to see on a daily basis, my big sister, for all intents and purposes, IS my best friend.
Yeah.

   I was young in that Golden Age of children's television known as the late 90's when Pokemon was all the rage... well, more than it is now. But my mother did not let me watch Pokemon. She did, however, let us watch Digimon, one of those lesser known substitutes for possibly the most popular kid's anime ever to air on television.
 Out of the six seasons of Digimon, my sister and I watched only four. The first, in our opinion, was the best; the second series was crap, the third was okay, and by the fourth season, our interest was starting to wane and our mom's mindset that "Japanese cartoons are evil" was starting to rub off on us. So in about 2002, we abandoned our dear Digimon and steered clear of anime: anime of any kind. We moved on to better things like Harry Potter and more recently Percy Jackson, and period drama. Our time was occupied by drooling over charming British actors in cravats and tight trousers.
   We developed the policy that anyone who like anime had officially achieved "Dork Status". We didn't have anything against people who liked anime, we just thought that they could have better taste in television. I stuck to that idea for pretty much all of my elementary and middle school life. Somewhere along the line my sister and I discovered a delightful sport called tennis and just fell in love with it. We payed (and still do pay) distinct attention to the four Grand Slams, as well as establishing our favorite players.
    Neither of us had any inkling that tennis might get us in to anime. But it did.
    In 2010, that sister of mine lazily searching for those silly online "Which Tennis Player are You?" quizzes just for something to do.
    But she couldn't find any for tennis. No. All that turned up on the screen of the particular quiz site was quizzes for The Prince of Tennis. So she decided to take one, just to see what Prince of Tennis was. She soon found that it was an animeShe then did something not out of character, but still unexpected: she decided to watch a few episodes. Now, she started watching the OVA's*, but she got the general idea of the thing. And she liked it.
Oh, she did this all on her own time. But in our tiny house, the computer is located in the living room, behind our mom's recliner and... the chair that isn't mom's off-limits-to-anyone-but-Mom Lay-Z-Boy. I do tend to turn around on this chair and lean on the back so as to talk to my sister. From this chair I sneaked peeks of what Nee-san* was watching, and when I realized what it was the only words that came out of my mouth were: "Is that anime? Seriously?"
Nee-san took the time over the next two weeks or so to try and convince me that this tennis anime wasn't totally lame. And it worked. She told me about most of the main characters including her favorite, Tezuka Kunimitsu, the bespectacled and seriously cool captain of the protagonist team. After this, I actually asked her about the first character I seen, Kaidoh Kaoru, a surly and unsociable supporting protagonist who is famous for wearing a bandanna and is popularly known as viper. He incidentally became my instant favorite... but I drift, and digress.
Essentially I got sucked into anime too, and in March of 2010, I watched my first full episode of anime since I stopped watching Digimon.

"But this anime was different," we said. "It's about sports; it's about tennis. Not cute monsters that you store in red and white balls."
We also tried to swear that The Prince of Tennis was the ONLY anime we were going to watch. Because it was about tennis.
That worked out soooo well.
When you've been a fan of anime, it sticks with you, and if you ever start to watch it again, it's probably there to stay. Watching Prince of Tennis brought back all of the idiosyncrasies of Japanese animation that I dearly loved and had nearly forgotten, like anger marks and sweat drops*. It was nostalgic for me, and I adore nostalgia.

We got through Prince of Tennis and all it's OVA's and filler arcs twice between March and June. That's when, in July, Nee-san said that there was another anime that she was getting interested in. This one was called Vampire Knight which is basically the grossly more entertaining and better quality anime equivalent of the Twilight series, except that there are noNative American, Abercrombie model, pseudo-werewolves, no correlation with an Italian vampire hierarchy, and very little sparkling to be seen.
Instead, Vampire Knight is all attractive vampires/vampire hunters all the time, as well as angst and blood-lust and all that classic preternatural romance stuff.
By August we'd moved on to an anime called Gakuen Alice. Then in September came our first FUNimation anime, Ouran High School Host Club, which we'd finished in about a week and a half, by which time we came to our first slightly popular anime, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. I won't explain why we didn't want to bother with the so-called "original" Fullmetal Alchemist anime and skipped right to the really good one.
Then came, Black Butler, and Fruits Basket in October and by December we'd made it through the entire first series of Naruto. When January rolled around we started on Bleach and since then we've managed to get tangled up in the likes of Slam Dunk, the 90's basketball classic; Nodame Cantabile, which centers around messy college classical pianist Noda Megumi and Chiaki Shinichi, a handsome conductor with a crippling fear of heights; Hetalia: Axis Powers, which allegorically misrepresents world history with ridiculously cute guys; Big Windup!, a great baseball anime centering around the cutest pitcher in the history of Japanese boys' high school baseball; Baccano!, a fabulous, if somewhat confusing, prohibition era drama incorporating the mafia, an immortality elixir and Bonnie and Clyde's clueless and contagiously happy doppelgangers; and finally Sgt. Frog, the best kid's anime about colorful space frogs invading Earth ever to be devised.

Somewhere in the middle of this I was talking to my cousin who happens to watch a lot of anime. I said that I wasn't quite a full-blown fan-girl yet. He said "Just wait: a few more months and you'll be as sad as the rest of us." He was sort of right.
I'm not saying that I'm miserable because of anime, far from it. It's just that I find it difficult to have a conversation with anyone without managing to drag anime into it. This makes it difficult to talk to people without boring them to death.

Otherwise, anime is a great, great thing. It sparked my love for Japan, it's language, it's culture, and it's people; and it gave me the ambition to become a voice actress to rival The Boss, Brina Palencia. Not an easy feat, but I intend to do it.
Some day.

This is the story of the Christian, home-schooled Otaku.


Next time we get to the interesting stuff. In the next post, I'll actually talk about an anime, and not my boring back-story.


 Footnotes__________________________________________________________________________

*OVA stands for Original Video Animation. They are direct to DVD long episodes or movies which are produced as a continuation for an anime series. Some OVA's are fabricated specifically for the anime. Others, such as the Prince of Tennis OVA's portray canon material that wasn't featured in the anime series.

*The Japanese word for this blog post, as can be viewed above, is Onee which does mean big sister; but the O part is optional and merely a sign of respect for the family member in question. Omitting the "O" is not disrespectful, it's just more casual.
San is an all purpose, fail-safe honorific title that can apply to anyone of any age, gender, or social standing. If you can offend a Japanese person when using this title, there is little hope for you.

*I'll tell you more about these anime visual effects in a future post.